DCNYF is a programme of the City Arts Office, part of the Culture, Community & Recreation Department of Dublin City Council (Chief Executive Owen P. Keegan, Assistant Chief Executive Brendan Kenny). The work of the Arts Office is made possible by the support of the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Críona Ní Dhálaigh, and the members of Dublin City Council.

Established in 2008, the Dublin Chinese New Year Festival (DCNYF) year-on-year celebrates, promotes and deepens the understanding of the Sino/Irish relationship.  2017 will celebrate The Year of the Rooster and marks the 10th year of this internationally recognised festival. With Chinese New Year’s Day falling on Saturday 28th of January 2017 the festival plans to deliver a high profile cultural and celebratory programme to mark this significant date in the Chinese Calendar. Dublin will also continue to build on its twinning agreement with Beijing signed in 2011 and Dublin Airport Authority twinning with Beijing Airport established in 2013.

The DCNYF works closely with an Advisory Panel made up of the following:

Dr. Isabella Jackson: Assistant Professor in Chinese History, Trinity College Dublin.
Xingyuan Liu:  President, Chinese Students & Scholars Association.
Dr Yupeng Liu: Dublin Institute of Technology.
Howard Pau: Honorary President, Chinese Society of Ireland.
Mary Redfern: Curator of East Asian Collections, Chester Beatty Library.
Jianwei Wang: President, Chinese (Bei Fang) Business Association In Ireland.
Liming Wang: Director, UCD Confucius Institute for Ireland.
Yong Wu: General Secretary, Irish Fujian Business Association, Irish Fujian Association